Max Landry
Email me at

EPA Certification Test and Training Seminar:
Part of your training will include training and
testing for Federal EPA certification. Because your
certification is through the EPA, a Federal Agency
of the US Government, your certification is valid in
all 50 states and Canada.

EPA Certification:
Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires
that all persons who maintain, service, repair or
dispose of appliances that contain regulated
refrigerants be certified in proper refrigerant
handling techniques.  The EPA has also placed a
sales restriction on refrigerants, limiting the sale of
regulated refrigerants to certified technicians only.
Technicians who violate the Clean Air Act
provisions may be fined, lose their certification,
and may be required to appear in Federal court.

There are four categories of certification:
Type I - Persons who maintain, service or repair
small appliances must be certified as Type I
Type II - Persons who maintain, service, repair or
dispose of high or very high pressure appliances,
except for small appliances or motor vehicle air
conditioning systems, must be certified as Type II
Type III - Persons who service, maintain, repair, or
dispose of low pressure appliance must be certified
as Type III technicians.   
Universal - Persons who maintain, service, repair,
or dispose of small appliances as well as high and
low pressure equipment, must be certified as
Universal technicians.

SECTION 608 EXAM FORMAT: EPA regulations
require the test to be a "closed book" proctored
exam.  The only outside materials allowed are a
temperature / pressure chart, scratch paper and a
The certification exam contains 4 sections - CORE
- Type I - Type II - Type III.  Each section contains
25 multiple choice questions. The technician must
achieve a passing score of 70% in each Type in
which they are to be certified.  All technicians must
pass the CORE section before receiving any
certification.  A technician seeking certification
must correctly answer 18 out of 25 questions on the
CORE and at least one other section of the exam.   
A technician seeking Universal certification must
correctly answer 18 out of 25 questions on each
section of the exam.
Universal Certification – Someone who possesses
Type I, Type II and Type III Certifications